Un petit bistro Parisien.

   One of the things I cherish a lot in Paris are the bistros. A Bistro/Bistrot is a small restaurant serving moderately priced simple meals in a modest setting. They are literally everywhere and all have the same menu more or less. They have the same vibe and atmosphere. Clients are there for a quick bite, a home-y meal like a steak frites or pasta. Their menu usually varies from summer to winter. The waiters are always in a rush but they do their job perfectly. They walk quickly between the tightly placed tables, where I would usually struggle, and have in one hand 5 piled up plates, 3 cups of wine and 1 cup of coffee. I think in my 19 years of existence, I have witness the “drop” only once (and I tend to stick to some of my favorite bistros).

   During one of the long boring summer days, and awaiting for August 13th (that’s when I’ll be going to Paris), I drew up a painting of your typical bistro seating: two wooden chairs, a small round table that barely fits anything, a stool and of course a dog (I don’t have one, but studies made in France show that 1 person out of 5 has a dog).

   Cheers!
   

Watercolor and China Ink
Leave a Reply

