The Museum of Innocence

   In late August/early September 2012, I went to Istanbul, in Turkey, with my father. Amongst the many things we did, we visited the Museum of Innocence: an old house, renovated into a museum based on “The Museum of Innocence”, a novel by Turkish writer Orhan Pamuk. 
   The museum is composed 83 (number of chapters) installations in small boxes with a glass facade that illustrates each chapter of the book, amongst other objects on display. It was one of my personal favorite attraction in Istanbul. It’s definitely not as visited as historical monument such as Hagia Sophia or the Blue Mosk but it has a different clientele, oriented towards Turkish modern culture and literature. 
   After the visit, I hit the gift shop and bought myself a copy of his book. My father got another novel written by the author, entitled “My Name is Red”.  
   It wasn’t until a few days ago that I started reading the book. It’s a story about a soon-to-be married Turkish man who has an affair. It’s also a lesson about Turkish culture and women’s role in the society. I would like to share a passage with you that I found rather amusing in its own way. 
   I strongly advise you to read it, in the language that fits your needs.


Leave a comment